The AIA Elevates 82 Members to The College of Fellows

The 2006 Jury of Fellows from The American Institute of Architects (AIA) elevated 82 AIA members to its prestigious College of Fellows, an honor awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the profession. Additionally, the jury chose 13 individuals to receive the designation of honorary fellow.

They will receive their Fellowship medal during the Investitutre of Fellows Ceremony at the AIA 2006 National Convention and Design Expo in Los Angeles. The Investiture Ceremony will be held at 3:30 p.m. on Friday, June 9, 2006, at the Walt Disney Concert Hall, designed by architect Frank Gehry, FAIA.

The Fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have made a signficant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession. Election to fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of architects as individuals, but also their significant contributionto architecture and society on a national level.

Out of a total AIA membership of nearly 78,000, there are fewer than 2,500 distinguished with the honor of fellowship. The elevation to fellowship is conferred on architects with at least 10 years of membership in the AIA who have made significant contributions in one or more of the following nomination categories:

  1. Promoted the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession.
  2. Advanced the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training and practice
  3. Coordinated the building industry and the profession of architecture through leadership in the AIA and other related professional organizations
  4. Advanced the living standards of people through an improved environment
  5. Made the profession of ever-increasing service to society

2006 Jury of Fellows
This year’s candidates a for fellowship in the AIA were reviewed and selected by a jury of seven fellows:

  • Mark Reddington, FAIA (Chair), Seattle
  • Lee Hewlett Askew III, FAIA Memphis, Tenn.
  • Louis D. Astorino, FAIA, Pittsburgh
  • Rebecca G. Barnes, FAIA Providence, R.I.
  • Daniel S. Friedman, FAIA, Chicago
  • Carol Shen, FAIA, Berkeley, California
  • Lorri D. Sipes, FAIA, Ann Arbor, MI.

2006 Fellows
The following is a completee list of the 82 AIA members who are being elevated to fellowship in 2006. The number following each fellow’s’ name indicates which category he or she is being honored for and following that is the recipient’s local, state or regional AIA component.

  1. Thomas Anglewicz (5) AIA San Diego
  2. James Baird (1) AIA Chicago
  3. James Putnam Batchelor (2) Boston Society of Architects/AIA
  4. Joseph Bilello (2) AIA Central Southern Indiana
  5. William Braham (2) AIA Philadelphia
  6. David Brems (1) AIA Utah
  7. Michael Broshar (3) AIA Iowa
  8. G.Z. Brown (2) AIA Southwestern Oregon
  9. Randy Brown (1) AIA Omaha
  10. Frederick Butters (3) AIA Detroit
  11. Segundo Cardona (1) AIA Puerto Rico
  12. Alan Cobb (1) AIA Detroit
  13. Tim Culvahouse (2) AIA San Francisco
  14. Kip Daniel (2) AIA Dallas
  15. Marlene Kay Davis (2) AIA East Tennessee
  16. J. Peter Devereaux (2) AIA Los Angeles
  17. David Eljadi (2) AIA Minnesota
  18. Paul Florian (1) AIA Chicago
  19. Mario Gandelsonas (2) AIA New York
  20. Holly Gerberding (4) AIA Chicago
  21. William Gilchrist (4) AIA Bermingham
  22. Mark Ginsberg (3) AIA New York
  23. Jan Gleason (5) AIA Seattle
  24. Marvin Goodman (1) AIA Miami
  25. Lisa Gould (2) AIA New York
  26. Mary Griffin (1) AIA San Francisco
  27. Todd Gritch (2) AIA Dallas
  28. Robin Genther (2) AIA New York
  29. Frank Guillot (3) AIA Vermont
  30. Robert Hale (2) AIA Los Angeles
  31. Philip Hamp (1) AIA Chicago
  32. Oscar Harris (5) AIA Atlanta
  33. Pamela Hawkes (1) Boston Society of Architects/AIA
  34. Craig Hodetts (1) AIA Los Angeles
  35. Thomas Hoepf (1) AIA Chicago
  36. Michelle Honey (4) AIA DC
  37. Edward Jakmauh (2) AIA Philadelphia
  38. Helen Kessler (2) AIA Chicago
  39. Wade Killefer (4) AIA Los Angeles
  40. Rena Klein (3) AIA Seattle
  41. Charles Mell Lawrence (1) AIA Austin
  42. Jeffrey Lee (1) AIA North Carolina
  43. John Loomis (2) AIA San Francisco
  44. Emma Macari (4) AIA New York
  45. Patrick MacLeamy (2) AIA San Francisco
  46. Michael Manfredi (1) AIA New York
  47. Peter Marino (1) AIA New York
  48. Steve McConnell (1) AIA Seattle
  49. Zack McKown (1) AIA New York
  50. Dan Meis (1) AIA Los Angeles
  51. Nancy Merryman (4) AIA Portland
  52. Thomas Meyer (1) AIA Minnesota
  53. Robert Miller (5) AIA Orlando
  54. Matthew Morris (1) AIA San Antonio
  55. Hal Munger (3) AIA Toledo
  56. Joyce Noe (2) AIA Honolulu
  57. William Edward Odell (2) AIA St. Louis
  58. C. Stan Peterson (3) AIA Kansas
  59. Jean Parker Phifer (4) AIA New York
  60. David Piscuskas (1) AIA New York
  61. Raymond Plumey (5) AIA New York
  62. John Prokos (1) Boston Society of Architects/AIA
  63. Jack Pyburn (1) AIA Atlanta
  64. Craig Reynolds (5) AIA Dallas
  65. Donna Robertson (2) AIA Chicago
  66. Gilbert Rosenthal (2) AIA Philadelphia
  67. Michael Franklin Ross (3) AIA Los Angeles
  68. Dennis Rupert (1) AIA Chicago
  69. Nick Seierup (1) AIA Los Angeles
  70. Mark Sexton (1) AIA Chicago
  71. Robert Shemwell (1) AIA San Antonio
  72. Harris Steinberg (2) AIA Philadelphia
  73. Peter Steinbrueck (4) AIA Seattle
  74. Carl Strona (2) AIA San Diego
  75. Abby Patricia Suckle (1) AIA New York
  76. Dorwin Thomas (3) AIA Miami
  77. Victor Trahan, III (1) AIA Baton Rouge
  78. Benjamin Vargas (3) AIA Puerto Rico
  79. Richard Varda (2) AIA Minneapolis
  80. James von Klemperer (1) AIA New York
  81. Roberta Washington (5) AIA New York
  82. Darrel Williams, Sr. (4) AIA North Carolina

2006 Honorary Fellows
Honorary fellowship is bestowed on architects of esteemed character and distinguished achievements who are neither US citizens nor US residents, and who do not primarily practice architecture within the domain of the Institute. Honorary fellows are chosen by the jury of fellows with the addition of Laurinda Spear, FAIA (Chair), Miami, and Thomas Vonier FAIA, Washington, representatives from the international committee. Listed below are the 13 architects chosen this year to receive this designation:

  1. Sung Jung Chough, Hon. FAIA Seoul, Korea
  2. Eric Dubosc, Hon. FAIA Issey Les Moulineaux, France
  3. Itsuko Hasegawa, Hon. FAIA Tokyo, Japan
  4. Eva Magdalena Jirincna, Hon. FAIA London
  5. Hyun Sik Min, Hon. FAIA Seoul, Korea
  6. Takanobu Ota, JIA, Hon. FAIA Osaka, Japan
  7. Wolfe Prix, Hon. FAIA Vienna, Austria
  8. David Reznik, Hon. FAIA Jerusalem, Israel
  9. Guslun Saolamer, Hon. FAIA Istanbul, Turkey
  10. Rogelio Salmona, Hon. FAIA Bogota, Colombia

«Go Back To News